top of page

My way of paying homage to the Master, J.R.R. Tolkien

Greetings,

For my first video blog I'll add a link to YouTube linking to a BBC video part 1, I believe on the life of J.R.R. Tolkien taken way back in 1968 when I was just a wee lad.

My way of paying homage to the master. My inspiration in this genre.

Note: I am fluent in three languages and love the Professor's linguistic touches to his books which brings them, and their history of Middle Earth, to life for me.

Excerpt below from the YouTube posting:

"Some great archival footage just released from BBC on Tolkien that was first aired in 1968.This is an episode from BBC's series "In Their Own Words British Authors". Official synopsis: "John Izzard meets with JRR Tolkien at his home, walking with him through the Oxford locations that he loves while hearing the author's own views about his wildly successful high-fantasy novels. Tolkien shares his love of nature and beer and his admiration for 'trenchermen' in this genial and affectionate programme. The brief interviews with Oxford students that are dotted throughout reveal the full range of opinions elicited by 'The Lord of the Rings', from wild enthusiasm to mild contempt." This footage is entirely owned by BBC. I am in no way affiliated with BBC or the Tokien Estate or anyone who may be associated with this video."

Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page